inspire a little enthusiasm

I’m trying inspire some enthusiasm  this morning. I’m tired–my day job seems overwhelming at times–and yet through it all I do continue to write (though not as much on the blog as I’d like!)  Yesterday  I actually sent some material  to my writing mentor. The draft of the new novella seems to be falling into place–though I’m at a place where I need to be doing some more brainstorming for the next scenes and quite frankly I don’t have the energy/focus.  And one thing I can do today is some more work on my day job– which should  to clear off a  morning next week when I will have more energy.  And I’m aware that’s not enough.  I want to something with my writing this morning. But what?

Possibly–by re-reading what I have so far, and  rekindling an enthusiasm  for the characters.  It’s a  fantasy/humorous novella which begins with the  protagonist, Connie seeking to escape into her fantasy world of 17th century  Agincout when her work world–especially–is just too much.

Her hero is a Cyrano DeBergerac-type character, the noble Xavier who–despite his ugly scars and crooked nose– “radiates integrity, passion, a life live in grand gestures.”  And  when Connie enters  Xavier’s world, she finds that in many ways, she doesn’t really fit.  And so when the villain LeBlanc offeres Xavier a place in his entourage, Xavier explodes, thrusting his sword forward, and declaring: ” Never! My  words, my soul  polluted, destroyed by your filthy touch!”

Connie’s response is to want  take him aside, and suggest a  “simple no ” would do, adding: “He’s got you in his power when you let him get to you like that. Maybe you should look at what’s going on with you here…”  Which she doesn’t of course do.

And then there’s LeBlanc, the villian.   Julie, my writing mentor, suggested that  he show some vulnerability. So I have him coming from a mythical background that’s really a sham.  And then I decided his counterpart, Morgana, is in reality his much younger sister, who not only knows the truth of where they both come from, but  also chose to use whatever gifts she has in the opposite way.  She, too, ends up in  Agincourt.   When the war cry rings throughout Agincourt–they need to destroy the neighbouring city state of Guia,   Morgana travels  to Guia  and  discovers  that– despite the seemingly bizarre differences–  the Guians are human beings, too.  When she wants  Agincourt to be  open to – at least–talking with the  Guians, she’s immediately banded as a traitor,  as someone on the Guian side in their attempt to destroy Agincourt.   Fearing for her life, she flees to the forest–from  which her voice is often heard–coming on the wind.

Indeed, when Connie first goes into the Agincourt world,  she finds herself in Morgana’s woods.  As a woman wandering there, she’s considered fair game–even a traitor–and so is attacked by LeBlanc’s  henchmen including Prince Rainier.   After he takes her under his protection, Xavier actually  assures all that Connie won’t be wandering in Morgana’s woods again.  Something that Connie isn’t  sure about. She’s not used to being told what to do, of course. Plus there’s something about Morgana’s “call” that beckons her to respond.

And finally  there’s the Trickster character, Panache.  The Trickster character is an exaggerated  variation of the hero (in this case Xavier) who allows Connie (and later the other characters) to travel between the fantasy/real worlds.  Panache is much more of a character than ACC–the Trickster character  in “Passionate Hero”.    He actually appears as one of the characters in the fantasy word introducing himself as Panache, “though  his slicked back hair, his untidy bulk , his double chin  and    missing  tooth — hardly suggest that.”  He slurs, and his knowledge of what Connie has put down in her diary–something she’s never told anyone else–seems to be a mystery to him as well.

Right now, the Panache character seems more real to me than the Xavier one. And of course, that’s  something I want to balance out–when  in the next section, Connie re-enters the world of Agincourt once more.

I feel a lot more enthusiasm  in my writing. And I trust this is being helpful to you…giving you some ideas of how you could recapture your enthusiasm when it’s hard to find…

Thanks for reading

M.C. Piper

Leave a Reply

