Getting back on track…and why am I doing this anyway?

I’m aware that I want to get back on track with my writing. For me that means getting on with my next novella in the Kooteani Brown series. In some ways, I’ve never left. I have an excellent writing consultation, Julie Rodriguez, and I’ve been careful to keep up our regular consultations–because on principle, I wasn’t prepared to give up my writing, regardless of what was going on around me. And, not surprisingly, my heart just wasn’t in it in the same way as it was before. And now I’m prepared to get back into it.
And the issue that comes up for me around all of this is: why am I doing this? Why is it so important for me to continue?…Maybe it’s as simple as: this is a creative way for me to be with what is happening–that not only gives me the distance that I need, but also gives me the opportunity to create a story with fun characters who– in their own way–grapple with some of the issues that I find in my own life.
In the most recent novella the protagonist,Connie, has to deal with “niceness” both within herself (that causes her to dishonest with Xavier, her would-be hero) and within the work situation (where the people were “too nice” to tell her what was really going on with them). In the framework I’ve chosen (with the protagonist, Connie able to escape to the fantasy world of her hero, Xavier; and Xavier able to cross back into hers), I’m able to be with the whole “niceness” things–even learn what I need to learn about it–and yet do so in a creative fun way, in my writing.

And that’s why it’s important for me to continue to write.

Just some thoughts

M.C. Piper

Leave a Reply

