The “working” writer

Anthony Trollope, the famous Victorian novelist who wrote– among other things the Palliser  novels– had for many years a flourishing career in the  British  Post Office. Apparently he’d  get up early in the morning and write before going to work.

I wonder: exactly how he did he do it? !  I have a time when I get up in the morning when I’m full of energy; and if I can use that time to write then I see myself as getting something done. (Reminding myself that good writing is work…not something I could throw together in a haphazard  manner and expect to be done with it)

And especially with my  “day” job, I often have pulls on that precious time–things that need the same level of  concentration; and if I were to put off to later in the day would never get done. I just don’t have that same energy level later in the day.

O to be like Trollope–to be able to write for  2-3 hours and then go off skipping to my job and have the energy to do all the projects there!

Of course,  Anthony Trollope never had to clean the house, do the yard work, make meals. He had a wife and servants to do that.  And maybe he had a secretary/editor–someone who would sense of his notes; clean them up, so that he could let go of the messy re-writing, and get on with the  larger story.

I don’t know…and I guess I could find out.

I just know that I beginning not to believe in the “lone writer” .  Writing that is to be shared  is a collaborative effort.

I mean: what’s  the point if I  can’t communicate  the essence of the story in ways that make the characters  come alive to others?… if they get lost in my egocentric meanderings–never to see the light of day in anyone else’s understanding?

Now that’s  the subject of another blog…

Just some thoughts

M.C. Piper

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

