Finally getting (my fiction writing) life back

It’s Saturday and…I’m off…and  I find that it does take some time for me to get my focus back to  writing the  fiction that I love.

When I was thinking  about this blog  I was going to entitle it:  “Getting my life back” but I realize that wouldn’t be accurate.  I do have a life outside of my writing–a good life, filled with the usual  ups and downs.  I sometimes think my biggest problem is just accepting my humaness and the humaness of others.  I have this fantasy of how we  should all be; and as it’s all in my head–not much chance of  any of it ever happening!

And so –do I write in order to get beyond the “mundane” details of life, to create  larger than life characters that never  bogged down in the trivial preoccupations that seem to be so much part of my life?

Some writers do write in this way.  And more power to them.  They have legions of readers; they’re obviously  filling a real need.

But that’s not  how  I want to write.  For me, the so called trivia that can make up our lives says  a lot about us as human beings. It’s a way in which we deal with–or avoid dealing with–with the larger issues that are uncomfortably there–whether we like want them to be or not.

Of course, I’m far from the first writer  to write this way.

Virginia Woolf’s  classic “Mrs. Dalloway”   is but one classic  in this  genre.

And while the style of realism works for many  writers,  I  much prefer the Fantasy genre.  Though story it allows me to name what issues that I’m dealing with in a creative way. I often show  the “preferred” solution of the fantasy world  which,  in the light of day , though inadequate,  leads  the protagonist  to  what she needs to be about…in her own life…

And so obviously   my writing is very much tied up with my life.  It’s another way of being in it…

And yet, it does take me time to get  my writing life back… I feel sometimes that I’m coming out of a fog…and I have to have it slowly clear before I can get back to the characters…and their world…

Luckily I am meeting with writing consultant, Julie, today and that will help me get my focus back…

Just some thoughts

M.C. Piper

Leave a Reply

